Placing the day…


Winter Sunset in Pennsylvania Photo by SloMo2639

Good morning, beloved,

This morning found me awake earlier than usual. With coffee in hand, I begin my day with the Lord. I place my day in His hands.

22 The stone that the builders rejected
became the chief cornerstone [Luke 20:17Acts 4:11Eph. 2:201 Pet. 2:7].
23 ·The Lord did this [L This is from the Lord],
and it is wonderful ·to us [L in our eyes; Matt. 21:42Mark 12:10–11].
24 This is the day that the Lord has made.
Let us rejoice and be glad ·today [L in it]! Psalm 118 EXB

I look over my yesterday and ask Him to teach me. I look to my tomorrow and remember, grace. Grace for yesterday, grace for today, grace for tomorrow, so thankful for His grace. Why is life so calm in the garden?  Walking with Him, talking with Him, it’s so peaceful. and then I have to jump into my life. My life feels a little like a snowball at the top of the mountain and by the end of the day, a huge ball. I’ve said things, done things, I regret.

So I truly believe that His Spirit resides in me. So why is it so hard to live out that in front of my family?

I hear myself. I hear the fear. Do you hear it? Do you ever approach a day wondering if, in your time of prayer, what you prayed will bear fruit?

I ·look up [L raise my eyes] to the hills [C the hills surrounding Zion, the location of the Temple],

Sunrise over the Jerusalem hills. Photo by Super Jew

 but where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth [Gen. 1].Psalm 121  EXB

He is the One who helps. He is the One who made it all. So as I begin the day, I lift my eyes. I bring my day before my God, my Helper. I am not ever going to attain perfection this side of heaven, but God promises He will help. He will come.

He will not let ·you be defeated [L your feet be moved/slip].
    He who ·guards [watches] you never sleeps.
He who ·guards [watches] Israel
    never ·rests [sleeps] or ·sleeps [slumbers].

We will not be defeated by the enemy. Our feet will not move or slip. We have the Divine Guardian. He never dozes. He never takes a nap with His favorite afghan. He guards us, He guards Israel always. Promises that we can stand upon.

Western Moon setting over Mountains, High Desert, California by Jessie Eastland aka Robert DeMeo

The Lord ·guards [watches] you.
    The Lord is the shade ·that protects you from the sun [L at your hand, your right hand; 91:1].
The sun cannot ·hurt [L strike] you during the day,
    and the moon cannot ·hurt [L strike] you at night.

So friends, we live with the promise. The Lord is watching, He is the shade. I’m so thankful that God gives us pictures in His word. He is our shade. He is covering us from the sun. He is at our hand. So, as I begin my day, breathing in, breathing out. I am realizing I think tooooooo much. It is so good to remember. SO good to ponder. And duh, where are my note cards during the day with His Word scribbled? Yes, I stopped doing that, and I am going to work on that as soon as I finish.

What disciplines do you have in place that help YOU to remember? A lit candle? Music in the background? We battle. I battle. When I have these different “triggers”, I can look all over and recall.

 

The Lord will ·protect [guard; watch] you from all ·dangers [trouble; evil];
    he will ·guard [watch] your life.
The Lord will ·guard [watch] you as you come and go,
    both now and forever.

We are in His sweet care. We are protected. Five times, in this Psalm, we find the Hebrew word, shamarto guard, to protect. We know. We can trust. Faith. Faith that He will be there always.

Ann Voskamp, Joy Dare:

A gift on a paper, in a person, in a picture:

154. My kids’ pictures, writings, drawings…priceless.

155. Staying in touch with friends, near and far.

156. Seeing pictures of family vacations, delight and relaxation. Remembering…

So, friends, we have a choice. We can grab hold of what we know to be true. Place different triggers around the house, verses, candles, songs. As our world gets more complicated as the day goes by, we can stop, take a breath and remember. I’m game, how about you? :)

Pray on. Pray on.

 

Categories: Bible teaching, Cara thoughts..., Music, Pictures from commons..., Psalms, Thankfuls | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Placing the day…

  1. Thank you for the idea of placing things around the house to remind me of spending time with Jesus. That is a sweet idea.

    Like

Will you add to the discussion?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Outlander Kitchen

Historical and Character-Inspired Recipes from the fictional world of Diana Gabaldon.

Mundane Faithfulness

What will you do in the mundane days of faithfulness? -- Martin Luther

Strange Figures

"I came here for a party and what do I get? Nothing. Not even ice cream."

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips) **Facebook.com/MattWalshBlog

Full Bloom

A space to observe the beauty of ordinary days and chronicle God’s faithfulness

Simply Living Healthy

Sharing with you simple and healthy recipes that are delicious, nutritious, refined sugar and gluten-free...

Jeff Lovell

Author and critic

Making the Most of Now!

www.punkytolson.org/#/blog

Jane Austen's World

This Jane Austen blog brings Jane Austen, her novels, and the Regency Period alive through food, dress, social customs, and other 19th C. historical details related to this topic.

Pictures from the Holyland

Visit Israel archeological sites

The Evolution of Eloquence

Improving the English language one letter at a time

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

46 Psalm

Be still and know that I am God

brandon andress

extending the kingdom of god...

Hollis Plample

draws comics

One7Blog

Reaching Inner City communities through cross cultural youth ministry.

who is the God of heaven ? the jesus I never knew.

life is not a rehersal,so live it...if you cant be the poet, be the poem.

Easy Peasy All-in-One Homeschool

A complete, free online Christian homeschool for your family and mine

Perky Texan

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers

